Economics and Finance Faculty

Walter J. Lane, Ph.D. Walter J. Lane, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department Chair
Ph.D., University of California

438C Kirschman Hall
504-280-7145
wlane@uno.edu

Health Care Economics

James R. Davis, Ph.D. James R. Davis, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia

421 Kirschman Hall
504-280-7148
jrdavis1@uno.edu

Public Finance, History of Economic Theory, and Managerial Economics

Michael EasleyMichael Easley
Instructor of Statistics
M.S. Tulane University

440 Kirschman Hall
504-280-7419
weasley@uno.edu

 

Mohammad Kabir Hassan Ph.D. Mohammad Kabir Hassan Ph.D.
Hibernia Professor of Economics and Finance
Bank One Professor in Business
Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln

438G Kirschman Hall
504-280-6163
mhassan@uno.edu

Financial Institutions and Markets, Emerging Markets and Financial Development, International Finance, Applied Economics, Corporate Finance, Islamic Economics, Banking and Finance

Sudha Krishnaswami, Ph.D.Sudha Krishnaswami, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D., Texas A&M University

433 Kirschman Hall
504-280-6488
skrishn1@uno.edu

Corporate Restructuring, Financing Choices, and Corporate Governance

Neal Maroney, Ph.D.Neal Maroney, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Graduate Coordinator
Ph.D., The Claremont Graduate School

438E Kirschman Hall
504-280-6485
504-280-6908
dfinec@uno.edu
nmaroney@uno.edu

Investments, International Finance, and Financial Market Anomalies

Tarun Mukherjee, D.B.A.Tarun Mukherjee, D.B.A
James R. Moffett Chair in Financial Economics
D.B.A, Texas Tech University

437 Kirschman Hall
504-280-7146
tmukherj@uno.edu

Capital Budgeting, Dividend Policy, and Mergers and Acquisitions

Atsuyuki Naka, Ph.D.Atsuyuki Naka, Ph.D.
Professor
Max Derbes III Endowed Professorship in Real Estate
Ph.D., University of Arizona

469 Kirschman Hall
504-280-6896
anaka@uno.edu

International Finance, Financial Markets, Asset Pricing Models, Macro Finance, and Real Estate Finance

Arja Turunen-Red, Ph.D.Arja Turunen-Red, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D., British Columbia

423 Kirschman Hall
504-280-6912
aturunen@uno.edu

International Trade Theory, Social Choice Theory, Economic Growth, and Growth Cycles in Open Economies

Mark RosaMark Rosa
Adjunct Professor
M.A., University of New Orleans

417 Kirschman Hall
mrosa@uno.edu

Financial Institutions and Credit Risk

Duygu Zirek, Ph.D.Duygu Zirek, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Baruch College

429 Kirschman Hall
dzirek@uno.edu

Investments, International Finance, and Macroeconomics

Emeritus Faculty

Hesham Abdel-Rahman, Ph.D.Hesham Abdel-Rahman, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

 

City Systems and Trade, Urban Land Use, Location Theory, Economic Growth, Labor Market and Income Disparity, and Urban Development, Urban Productivity

Wade Ragas, Ph.DWade Ragas, Ph.D
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.

 

 

Timothy P. Ryan, Ph.D.Timothy P. Ryan, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.

 

 

Janet Speyrer, Ph.D.Janet Speyrer, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.,Johns Hopkins University

 

Affordable Housing, Economic Development, Neighborhood Revitalization, Gaming Impacts

Oscar Varela, Ph.D.Oscar Varela, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.

 

 

Peihwang Wei, Ph.D.Peihwang Wei, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D.

 

Market Microstructure, Options and Futures, and International Finance

Gerald Whitney, Ph.D.Gerald Whitney, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Tulane University

 

Econometrica, Review of Economics and Statistics, Journal of Political Economy, Journal of Econometrics, and the Journal of Money, Credit, and Banking