Faculty

Curriculum & Instruction | Educational Leadership, Counseling, & Foundations | Special Ed. & Habilitative Services
College Staff

Curriculum & Instruction

Pat Austin, Ph.D.Pat Austin, Ph.D.
Professor,
Director of Children's Literature Library Collection

ED 342-I
504-280-6526
paustin@uno.edu

Graduate Coordinator, Curriculum and Instruction

Helene Derbigny, M.Ed.Helene Derbigny, M.Ed.
Teacher in Residence

ED 342-L
504-280-5556
hjderbig@uno.edu

Clinical Field Experience

Ivan Gill, Ph.D.Ivan Gill, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

ED 342-X
504-280-6531
igill@uno.edu

Science Education

No ImageAlexandra Herques
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice

ED 342-E
504-280-7048
aherques@uno.edu

Curriculum and Instruction

Abram Himelstein, M.F.A.Abram Himelstein, M.F.A.
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice

ED 342-G
504-280-6444
ahimelst@uno.edu

Editor-in-Chief, UNO Press

Penelope Speaker, M.A.Penelope Speaker, M.A.
Teacher in Residence

ED 342
504-280-7203
pspeake1@uno.edu

Curriculum and Instruction

Richard Speaker, Ph.D.Richard Speaker, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

ED 342-J
504-280-6607
rspeaker@uno.edu

Chair, Curriculum and Instruction, Literacy

 

Educational Leadership, Counseling, and Foundations

Brian Beabout, Ph.D.Brian Beabout, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

ED 348
504-280-7388
bbeabout@uno.edu

Educational Leadership

Marc Bonis, Ph.D.Marc Bonis, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Professional Practice

ED 348-K
504-280-6165
mbonis@uno.edu

Educational Leadership, Counseling and Foundations

Chris Broadhurst, Ph.D.Chris Broadhurst, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

ED 348-G
504-280-6026
cbroadhu@uno.edu

Educational Leadership

Tammie Causey-Konate, Ph.D.Tammie Causey-Konate, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

ED 348-M
504-280-6451
tcausey@uno.edu

Educational Leadership (Coordinator)

Roxane Dufrene, Ph.D.Roxane Dufrene, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

ED 176
504-280-7434
rdufren1@uno.edu

Counseling (Coordinator)

No ImageAlonzo Flowers, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

 

ED 178
504-280-6662
bherlihy@uno.edu

Counseling

Jennifer Johnson, Ph.D.Jennifer Johnson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

ED 348
504-280-6661
jmjohn15@uno.edu

Educational Leadership, Counseling, and Foundations

Matthew Lyons, Ph.D.Matthew Lyons, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

ED 174
504-280-6662
mllyons@uno.edu

Counseling

Carlin McLinCarlen McLin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

504-280-6201
cmclin@uno.edu

 

Ann O'Hanlon, Ph.D.Ann O'Hanlon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

ED 348-B
504-280-7386
aohanlon@uno.edu

Chair, Educational Leadership, Counseling, and Foundations

Zarus Watson, Ph.D.Zarus Watson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

ED 172
504-280-6834
zwatson@uno.edu

Counseling

 

Special Education and Habilitative Services

Paul BolePaul Bole, Ed.D.
EDUC Core Faculty

ED 246
504-280-6609
pbole@uno.edu

Learning disabilities, emotional/behavioral disabilities, academically gifted and talented students, twice-exceptionalities, Autism Spectrum Disorders including Asperger's Syndrome, English language learners & special education

Brenda BurrellBrenda Burrell, Ph.D.
Mild/Moderate Disabilities

ED 246F
504-280-7344
bburrell@uno.edu

Working with parents and families, integrated instructional strategies, students who are at-risk/at-promise

Ken FarizoKen Farizo, Ph.D.
EDUC Core Faculty

ED 246
504-280-6609
kpfarizo@uno.edu

Adolescent literature, middle school teaching, curriculum, instruction and assessment, secondary school teaching 

Linda FlynnLinda Flynn-Wilson, Ph.D.
SEHS Department Chair
Early Intervention

ED 246
504-280-6609
Lflynnwi@uno.edu

Early intervention (birth to five children with disabilities and their families), all disability categories, inclusion in early childhood, collaboration and teaming, concerns, priorities, resources
of families who have young children
with disabilities

Janice JanzJanice Janz, Ph.D.
EDUC Core Faculty

ED 246E
504-280-6542
jgjanz@uno.edu

Elementary grades, mild/moderate disabilities, learning disabled, socially maladjusted and emotionally disturbed, severe/profound disabilities, assessment teacher, educational consultant, educational diagnostician, school supervisor of instruction

Lena NuccioLena Nuccio-Lee, Ph.D.
EDUC Core Faculty

ED 250
504-280-6609
nuccio.lee@uno.edu

Child and adolescent development, classroom management

Kate ReynoldsKate Reynolds, Ph.D.
Deaf/Hard of Hearing (D/HH) COEHD Webmaster

ED 246G/ ED 305A
504-280-6609 or 504-280-1395
Website
kate.reynolds@uno.edu

 

Infants/toddlers who are D/HH, audiology and aural habilitation, special education administration, all disability categories, distance learning, technology, co-teaching

Bill SharptonBill Sharpton, Ph.D.
Associate Provost
SACS Liaison
Significant Disabilities

ED 304
504-280-6830 or 504-280-6609
wsharpto@uno.edu

Redesigning curriculum, writing and managing grants, meeting accreditation standards

Paulette ThomasPaulette Thomas, Ph.D.
Educational Diagnostician

ED 256
504-280-6609
pjthomas@uno.edu

Identify and serve elementary students who exhibit learning difficulties