Faculty and Staff

The English faculty is dedicated to providing a traditional Liberal Arts experience and serving the practical needs of its students and, in turn, the metropolitan community. They have won University Teaching Awards in fourteen of the last seventeen years and are dedicated to scholarship and creative projects that enhance their teaching. In addition, many have won major awards and grants for their research and have achieved national and international recognition in their fields.

Full-Time Faculty | Graduate Faculty | Emeritus Faculty

Administration

LA 201D
504-280-6274
pschock@uno.edu

Interests: English Romanticism, Shakespeare, Spenser, Milton, and the history of criticism and literary theory

PocheReggie Poché
Assistant Chair

LA 291A
504-280-6469
rjpoche3@uno.edu

Work Appearances:ZahirMargin, Ginger HillRiver Styx, the anthology Where We Know: New Orleans as Home, Gris-Gris

Robert ShenkRobert Shenk, Ph.D.
Graduate Coordinator

LA 297
504-280-5415
rshenk@uno.edu

Courses: English literature (Milton and occasionally teaches Shakespeare), Rhetoric and the Renaissance, the classics and the Bible as literature

Patricia RogerPatricia Roger, Ph.D.
Undergraduate Coordinator

LA 291
504-280-6194
pmroger@uno.edu

Publications:Taking a Perspective: Hawthorne's Concept of Language and Nineteenth-Century Language Study

Allie ArnoldSarah DeBacher
Chair of Freshman English
Director, Greater New Orleans Writing Project

LA 201B
504-280-6275
sdebache@uno.edu

Courses: Freshman Writing, Introduction to Fiction Writing, Advanced Fiction Writing, and Introduction to Creative Nonfiction Writing

M.O. "Neal" WalshM. O. Walsh
Director of the Creative Writing Workshop

LA 285
504-280-3133
CWW@uno.edu

Essays and stories have appeared in The New York Times, American Short FictionAmerican Book Review, Epoch, Oxford American, Story South and LitnImage, Best New American VoicesBest of the NetLouisiana in Words, Bar Stories, and The Southern Review

Inge FinkInge Fink
Director of the Writing Center

LA 334
504-280-7159
ifink@uno.edu

Favorite Classes: Introduction to Drama and Technical Writing

Elizabeth BlankenshipElizabeth Blankenship
Interim Director of Instructional Technology

LA 267
504-280-7169
eblanken@uno.edu

Courses: special topics course on the graphic novel, ENG 2398: Introduction to the Graphic Novel

Dan GonzalezDaniel Gonzalez, Ph.D.
Associate Director of Online and Non-Credit Instruction

LA 283
504-280-7133
dgonzal1@uno.edu

Interests:online learning, technology in university instruction

Katie ChosaKatie Chosa
Coordinator Associate of Graduate and Undergraduate English

LA 201E
504-280-6276
kchosa@uno.edu

Curiosity: second person and the saturation of advertisements in contemporary American life (in today's society?).

Katie ChosaCarin Chapman
Coordinator Associate of Freshman Writing and Creative Writing

LA 201
504-280-6275
cchapma2@uno.edu

Book Recommendations: Family Fang, Kevin Wilson; Tenth of December, George Saunders; Mrs. Dalloway, Virginia Woolf; Jazz, Toni Morrison 

 

Full-time Faculty

Janet SmithJanet Barnwell Smith, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 387
504-280-6818
jbarnwel@uno.edu

Courses: New Orleans Literature, American Literature (Civil War to present), and 1158 Composition

Randy BatesRandolph Bates, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 183
504-280-6134
rbates1@uno.edu

Books:  Rings: On the Life and Family of a Southern Fighter (New York: Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

Anne RiouxAnne Boyd Rioux, Ph.D.
Professor of English and Women's and Gender Studies

LA 375
504-280-6484
aeboyd@uno.edu

Research: working on a biography of the author Constance Fenimore Woolson

LA 351
504-280-3962
ebryant@uno.edu

Specialization: African American literature and English Renaissance literature

Dan DollDan Doll, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 271
504-280-6362
ddoll@uno.edu

Recent Publications: Recording and Reordering: Essays on Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Diaries and Journals

Nancy EasternlinNancy Easterlin, Ph.D.
University Research Professor
Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies

LA 317
504-280-6384
neasterl@uno.edu

Major Areas: British romanticism; Prose Fiction; Literary Criticism and Theory; and Women’s Studies.

J. Scott FarrinJ. Scott Farrin
Retained Instructor

LA 187
504-280-7324
jfarrin@uno.edu

Courses: writing, creative writing, and literature

Barbara FitzpatrickBarbara Fitzpatrick, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 361
504-280-6475
bfitzpat@uno.edu

Teaching Areas: Eighteenth-Century British Literature, The Novel, Irish Fiction, Book and Periodical History, Textual Bibliography, and Technical Writing

John GeryJohn R.O. Gery
Research Professor

LA 365
504-280-6361
jgery@uno.edu

Selected Poetry: Davenport's Version (Portals, 2003), A Gallery of Ghosts (UNO P, 2008), Lure/Mamac (bilingual, tr. by Svetlana Nedeljkov, 2012)

Richard GoodmanRichard Goodman
Assistant Professor

LA 273
504-280-7135
rgoodman@uno.edu

Recent Books: The Bicycle Diaries: One New Yorker's Journey Through 9-11

John HazlettJohn Hazlett, Ph.D.
Director, B.A. in International Studies Program

MH 237
504-280-1136
jhazlett@uno.edu

Research and Teaching Interests: American Literature, Autobiography, Non-Fiction Prose, Gender Studies, and Travel Writing

Carolyn HembreeCarolyn Hembree
Assistant Professor

LA 379
504-280-6476
chembree@uno.edu

Poetry: Skinny (Kore Press, 2012)

Barb JohnsonBarb Johnson
Assistant Professor

LA 277
504-280-6329
bajohns3@uno.edu

Short Stories:  More of This World or Maybe Another (Harper Perennial, 2009)

Jennifer KuchtaJennifer Kuchta
Retained Instructor

LA 325
504-280-6466
jkuchta@uno.edu

Book Recommendations:Once Were Warriors, Alan Duff; The Bone People, Keri Hulme; Jump, Nadine Gordimer; and Kon-Tiki, by Thor Heyerdahl

Elizabeth LewisElizabeth Lewis, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 165
504-280-7321
emlewis1@uno.edu

Literature Courses: drama, fiction, and American and British literature, both onsite and online, as well as courses in women’s studies

No ImageCatherine Loomis, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 177
504-280-6113
cloomis@uno.edu

Research Interests: Shakespeare and other early modern dramatists, performance history, early modern women writers, and the use of corpses on the Jacobean stage

Kevin Kevin Marti, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 173
504-280-7248
kmarti@uno.edu

Teaching and Research Interests: medieval English literature, Dante, and Gothic architecture

Kim MartinKim Martin
Instructor

LA 327
504-280-6462
kmartin@uno.edu

Major American Writers Course: Benjamin Franklin, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Ralph Ellison, Jack Kerouac, Joyce Carol Oates, and Toni Morrison

Justin MaxwellJustin Maxwell
Assistant Professor

LA 287
504-280-7078
jmaxwell@uno.edu

Play:  An Outopia for Pigeons
Publications:  Minnesota Playlist, Minnesota History, Contemporary Theatre Review, Rain Taxi Review of Books, The Onion: America’s Finest News Source

Kim McDonaldKim McDonald
Retained Instructor

LA 371
504-280-6473
kmcdonal@uno.edu

Areas of Interest: assessment, peer-review, and the effectiveness of specific pedagogical approaches in the teaching of writing

Niyi OsundareNiyi Osundare, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor

LA 313
504-280-6455
oosunda1@uno.edu

Areas of Specialization: African Literature, Literature of the African Diaspora, Literary Stylistics, Sociolinguistics, and Creative Writing

Doreen PianoDoreen Piano, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 333
504-280-6457
dpiano@uno.edu

Graduate Courses: rhetoric and composition studies, nonfiction literature, and rhetorical theory
Undergraduate Courses: women’s studies, technical writing, sophomore writing, and autobiography and nonfiction literature

Ken RayesKen Rayes
Instructor

LA 181
504-280-7323
krayes@uno.edu

Areas of Specialization: Composition, Film as Literature, Technical Writing, Science Fiction Literature, American Literature and the Graphic Novel

LA 343
504-280-6472
elovell@uno.edu

Presentations: Renaissance drama and film, and Medieval magic and medicine, and has published in the area of Eighteenth century women’s studies

Patricia RogerPatricia Roger. Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 291
504-280-6194
pmroger@uno.edu

Publications:Taking a Perspective: Hawthorne's Concept of Language and Nineteenth-Century Language Study

David RutledgeDavid Rutledge, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 195
504-280-7196
drutledg@uno.edu

Publications:Nabokov's Permanent Mystery: The Expression of Metaphysics in His Work and Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans?

SteebyElizabeth Steeby, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 269
504-280-5422
esteeby@uno.edu

Courses: U.S. Modernism, Southern literature, New Orleans regional literature, and gender and sexuality studies

Lisa VernerLisa Verner, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 329
504-280-6464
lverner@uno.edu

Presentations: women's writing, medieval drama, medieval travel narrative, monsters and dragons, and has published in the area of composition pedagogy

Robin WernerRobin Werner, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor

LA 175
504-280-7322
rwerner@uno.edu

Research and Pedagogical Interests: Victorian Literature, Women and Gender Studies, Theatre History, and Fantasy and Children's Literature

Leslie WhiteLeslie White, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

LA 335
504-280-6690
ltwhite@uno.edu

Area of Specialization: Victorian Age

Emeritus Faculty

top

Fredrick Barton
Professor Emeritus
fbarton@uno.edu

Linda Blanton, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
lblanton@uno.edu

Carol Gelderman, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
cgelderm@uno.edu

Kenneth Holditch, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Georgette Ioup, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
georgetteioup@yahoo.com

Kris Lackey, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
klackey@uno.edu

Joanna Leake
Professor Emeritus 
jbleake@uno.edu

Cooper Mackin, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Malcolm Magaw, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Carl Malmgren, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
cmalmgre@uno.edu

Michael E. Mooney, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
mmooney@uno.edu

Kay Murphy
Professor Emeritus
kamurph1@uno.edu

Miriam Miller, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
MYMiller@uno.edu

Elizabeth Penfield
Professor Emeritus
epenfiel@uno.edu

Zhaoming Qian, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
zqian@uno.edu