Faculty

Rick Barton

Fredrick Barton
Research Professor
(Fiction)

504-280-5321
fbarton@uno.edu

Books: In the Wake of the Flagship, Black and White on the Rocks, A House Divided, The El Cholo Feeling Passes, Courting Pandemonium, Rowing to Sweden (essays)

Randy Bates

Randy Bates
Associate Professor (Nonfiction, Poetry)

504-280-6134
rbates1@uno.edu

Books:  Rings: On the Life and Family of a Southern Fighter (New York: Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

John Gery

John Gery
Research Professor
(Poetry)

504-280-6361
jgery@uno.edu

Selected Books:  Davenport's Version (Portals, 2003), A Gallery of Ghosts (UNO P, 2008), Lure/Mamac (bilingual, tr. by Svetlana Nedeljkov, 2012) Have At You Now (2014)

Henry GriffinHenry Griffin
Artist in Residence
(Screenwriting)

504-280-6804
hgriffin@uno.edu

Awards:  South-by-Southwest, the Seattle International Film Festival, the Chicago International Film Festival, and the Message-to-Man Film Festival (St. Petersburg, Russia)

Richard Goodman

Richard Goodman
Assistant Professor (Nonfiction)

504-280-7135
rgoodman@uno.edu

Books: French Dirt: The Story of a Garden in the South of France, The Bicycle Diaries: One New Yorker's Journey Through 9-11, and The Soul of Creative Writing

Erik HansenErik Hansen
Artist in Residence (Screenwriting)

504-280-6808
ehansen@uno.edu

Industry Experience:  “Heart & Souls,” “The Dog Ate It”

Carolyn Hembree

Carolyn Hembree
Assistant Professor
(Poetry)

504-280-6491
chembree@uno.edu

Recent Books:Rigging a Chevy Into a Time Machine and Other Ways to Escape a Plague (Trio House Books), Skinny (Kore Press)

Barb JohnsonBarb Johnson
Assistant Professor
(Fiction)

504-280-6329
bajohns3@uno.edu

Book:  More of This World or Maybe Another (HarperPerennial) Selected essays and stories: Glimmer Train Stories, Washington Square, The Greensboro Review, 52 Stories, Yemmassee, Guernica, and Oxford American. 

Joanna LeakeJoanna Leake 
Professor
(Fiction, Screenwriting)

504-280-6407
jbleake@uno.edu

Work:  A Few Days in Weasel Creek; selected publications: Intro anthology, Cultural Vistas, Xavier Review, The Panhandler, Louisville Review and Apalachee Review

Justin MaxwellJustin Maxwell 
Assistant Professor (Playwriting)

504-280-7213
jmaxwell@uno.edu

Recent Works: The Canopic Jar of My Sins (play), Niagara Falls (play), A Blinded Horse Dreams of Hippocampi and Other Plays (book), An Outopia for Pigeons (play)

M.O. "Neal" WalshM.O. "Neal" Walsh
Director of the Creative Writing Workshop    Assistant Professor
(Fiction)

504-280-3133
mowalsh@uno.edu

For CWW: cww@uno.edu

For CWL: lowresmfa@uno.edu

Books: My Sunshine Away (G.P. Putnam’s Sons) and The Prospect of Magic (Livingston Press).  Essays and stories in The New York Times, The Guardian, The Southern Review, Oxford American and others.

 

Associate Faculty

Reine BoutonReine Bouton 

Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Fiction)

504-280-6276

Amanda BoydenAmanda Boyden

Artist in Residence
(Fiction)

504-280-6276

Novels: Pretty Little Dirty and Babylon Rolling

Amanda BoydenJoseph Boyden

Artist in Residence
(Fiction)

504-280-6276

Selected Work:  The Orenda; Through Black Spruce, winner of the 2008 Scotiabank Giller Prize, Three Day Road, Born with a Tooth.

Mary BreenMary Breen

Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Irish Literature and Culture)
Artist in Residence
(Fiction)

504-280-6276

Gina FerraraGina Ferrara

Guest Artist
(Poetry)

504-280-6276

 

Miles HarveyMiles Harvey

Guest Artist
Summer Residency (Nonfiction and Fiction)

504-280-6276

Kristen IversenKristen Iversen

Guest Artist
Summer Residency (Nonfiction)

504-280-6276

Sonja LivingstonSonja Livingston 

Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Nonfiction)

504-280-6276

Peter Lutze

Peter Lutze
Guest Artist
Summer Residency
(Cinema)

504-280-6276

Lish McBride

Lish McBride
Guest Artist
(Fiction)

504-280-6276

Jim Winter

Jim Winter
Guest Artist (Playwriting/Acting)

504-280-6276

 

 

Emeritus Faculty

Carol GeldermanCarol Gelderman
Professor Emeritus (Nonfiction)

504-280-6276
cgelderman@uno.edu

Biographies:  Henry Ford, The Wayward Capitalist; Mary McCarthy, A Life; and Louis Auchincloss, A Writer's Life

Kay Murphy

Kay Murphy
Professor Emeritus
(Poetry)

504-280-6276
kamurph1@uno.edu

Poetry Collections: The Autopsy and Belief Blues