Past Honors Faculty

The following University of New Orleans faculty members have made invaluable contributions to the University Honors Program and the Honors students over the past five calendar years. These contributions have included being a thesis advisor, teaching independent Honors Courses, teaching embedded Honors Sections, overseeing Honors Option students, guest lecturing in A&S 2999 – Forms of Inquiry, and being acknowledged by Honors students for their Distinguished Service, Distinguished Research, and as Faculty of the Year.

2016 Honors Faculty

Elliott BeatonElliott A. Beaton, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Psychology

Gunter Bischof, Ph.D.Gunter Bischof, Ph.D.
University Research & Marshall Plan Professor of History

Nikki Brown, Ph.D.Nikki Brown, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
Director of Undergraduate Studies


Dr. Mary ClancyDr. Mary Clancy
Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Joseph LawrenceJoseph Lawrence Dew, Ph.D.
Instructor of Biological Sciences

No ImageCory Dumesnil, M.S.
Instructor of Mathematics

Robert Dupont, Ph.D.Robert Dupont, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor of History

Laszlo FulopLaszlo Fulop
Associate Professor of Film and Theatre

Erik HansenErik Hansen
Artist in Residence Screenwriting
Department of Film and Theatre

John HazlettJohn Hazlett, Ph.D.
Janet Dupuy Colley Professor of International Studies
Professor of English

Edward JohnsonEdward R. Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Philosophy

Cornelia LammCornelia Lamm, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Psychology

Zhengchang LiuZhengchang Liu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biological Sciences

Catherine LoomisCatherine Loomis, Ph.D.
Professor of English

Carl Malmgren, Ph.D.Carl Malmgren, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of English

Dinah Payne, JD.Dinah Payne, JD.
Professor of Management and Marketing

Gilda ReedGilda Werner Reed, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor of Psychology

Dr. Abu Kabir Mostofa SarwarAbu Kabir Mostofa Sarwar, Ph.D.
Associate Provost for the University Honors Program
Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences

StufflebeamFrank Schalow, Ph.D.
Professor of Philosophy
University Research Professor

SaebCharles Gregory Seab, Ph.D.
Professor of Physics
S. D. Leyda University Teaching Fellow

StufflebeamRobert Stufflebeam, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor of Philosophy

Brandon TaravellaBrandon Taravella, Ph.D., P.E.
Associate Professor of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering

Lisa VernerLisa Verner, Ph.D.
Retained Instructor of English

Joel WebbJoel Webb, Ph.D.
Instructor in Mathematics

Lura WilliamsonLura Williamson, Ph.D.
Instructor of Biological Sciences