Privateer Undergraduate Research and Scholarly UNO Experience

Questions ?

Email: cur@uno.edu

The UNO Center for Undergraduate Research is pleased to introduce P.U.R.S.U.E. (Privateer Undergraduate Research and Scholarly UNO Experience)

The goals of this program are two-fold.

1. Introduce all UNO undergraduate students to research opportunities: the search and discovery of new information through creative and scholarly works.

2. Provide the mechanisms for students to find faculty research mentors.


Deadline and instructions for submission for the 2017 awards will be announced at the beginning of the Fall 2017 term.  An email announcement will be sent to all undergraduate students and updates will be added to this page.


  • Underclassmen (Freshmen & Sophomores):  Ten $1,000 awards in the form of student worker positions (paid at $10/hour; limit 10 hours/week)
  • Upperclassmen (Juniors & Seniors):  Ten $1,500 awards in the form of student worker positions (paid at $15/hour; limit 10 hours/week)
  • For both categories: Max of 100 hours paid.
  • Students will be encouraged to participate in InnovateUNO in the Spring semester. Click here for details.



  • All currently enrolled UNO degree-seeking undergraduate students in all academic disciplines eligible.
  • Students must identify a UNO faculty research mentor on the submission form.
  • Minimum cumulative G.P.A. 2.0  (minimum required to be hired as a student worker)
  • Undergraduate students must be enrolled at least half-time (6 hours during each Fall and Spring semester)
  • If you applied for a P.U.R.S.U.E. award previously and did not receive an award, you may reapply.
  • If you received a P.U.R.S.U.E. award previously, you are not eligible to reapply.


2016 P.U.R.S.U.E. Award Winners

Name Faculty Mentor Discipline
Kailyn Bridwell Mohammad Kabir Hassan Accounting/Economics & Finance
Bianca Canizares Jerome Howard Biological Sciences
Jacob Frick Wendy Schluchter Biological Sciences
Logan Guillory Kim Jovanovich Electrical Engineering
Banan Ibrahim Irfan Ahmed Computer Science
Shakar Karki Ting Wang Mechanical Engineering
Reecha Khanal Minhaz Zibran Computer Science
James Lightell Marc Bonis Human Performance and Health Promotion
Nishan Rayamajhee Stephen Ware Computer Science
Sarah Sheppard Martin O'Connell Earth and Environmental Sciences
Nora Bloemer Mary Clancy Biological Sciences
Celena Chouest Sonia Rubens Psychology
Emily DiGiovanna Kim Jovanovich Physics/Electrical Engineering
Nailah Ellis Erik Hansen Film Arts
Gaurav Gyawali Steven Rick Physics/Math/Chemistry
Ahmad Karkoutli Joel Atallah Biological Sciences
Alexander Leigh D. Ryan Gray Anthropology
Lyndsey Nuebel David Beriss Anthropology
Winifred Unah Weilie Zhou Electrical Engineering
Halley Venn Sonia Rubens Psychology